The Sun

Damian Chong
2 min readJun 17, 2024
Photo by Rajiv Bajaj on Unsplash

It rises and sets like clockwork.

Even when it rains,

even when the thunder shouts,

even when lightning attacks.

It’s routine remains,

a new awakening marked by its presence.

It persists through all of nature’s devils,

it’ll persist through all of man’s evil.

It guides, it lights,

and shines upon all,

despite.

So I’ve learnt,

to look up to it when I’m lost,

to find it’s light in the dark,

even though it’s merely a ray,

I know I’ll be safe.

And I’ll say thank you,

for the golden that shines in the morning,

for the tan on my face,

and for the constant light in life.

Editor’s Note: The Sun is dedicated to Miss Joliana, a psychologist, who has been counselling me since the start of 2024, when I was going through my worst possible months. I took inspiration from the tarot card, The Sun, to craft this poem. By tarot definition, The Sun is a card that is full of positive, hope, and new beginnings. Ever since I’ve picked up tarot, The Sun has always been my favourite card. I reflected upon what the many psychologists and psychiatrists I’ve seen mean to me and their job in today’s society, and The Sun was a card that really speaks of the importance of their job – to help their patients see the hope and light in their life even in the darkest hour.

The Sun goes out to all mental health professionals. Thank you.

--

--

Damian Chong

Singapore-based budding writer who is obsessed with garlic bread and lip balms.